What to expect if you have been charged with a DUI in Washington State
In Pierce County and throughout Washington State, there are procedural maneuvers that can help you avoid prosecution or conviction for Driving Under the Influence (DUI). At The Woods Law Office, PLLC, we use all available means to keep you from losing your license, going to jail and incurring the other penalties that can result from a DUI conviction.
Tacoma DUI attorney Doug Woods brings his experience as a former Auburn City and Thurston County prosecutor to bear in helping people from communities in the Puget Sound area — making sure they understand the legal process surrounding a DUI charge.
What to do if stopped for DUI
In the State of Washington, anyone who refuses a breath test or blood test, or whose blood alcohol content (BAC) is over .08, automatically loses his or her license unless he or she requests a hearing from the Department of Licensing. Your license can be suspended from 90 days to five years, depending on the circumstances of your case.
Although you may request a hearing to dispute the suspension of your license, you must do so within 30 days of your arrest. If you do not request a hearing within this 30-day period, you have waived your right to a hearing and there could be an automatic license suspension.
DUI procedure and deferred prosecution
According to Washington DUI procedure, if you have been charged with a DUI, you may be able to either plead to a reduced charge such as reckless driving, negligent driving or an infraction or enter into a deferred prosecution. Under the deferred prosecution option, if you are diagnosed as alcohol dependent and enter into a two-year treatment plan, you may be able to have your charges dismissed after five years — something you may do one time only. If the evidence against you is weak or if the police did not follow proper procedures, The Woods Law Office, PLLC pushes for a dismissal of charges, suppression of evidence or an acquittal at trial.
Charges and penalties vary based on your blood alcohol content (BAC) and other factors. If this is a Washington State first DUI offense for you, there is much greater latitude. If, however, you have had prior DUI charges or arrests, the battle will be greater and we urge you to contact Tacoma repeat DUI attorney Doug Woods immediately.
Contact our Pierce County DUI law office to learn more
You have rights. If you have been charged with Washington State DUI, make sure those rights are protected. For more information about how The Woods Law Office, PLLC can help you, contact us online. Weekend or evening appointments can be arranged, and we offer flexible, affordable payment plans.